Tags

, , , ,

20140703-082023-30023611.jpg

Do you play an instrument? Is there a musical instrument whose sound you find particularly pleasing? Tell us a story about your experience or relationship with an instrument of your choice.

Here’s mine:

I was 8 when I first started my organ lessons.

It was summer. My parents just bought an organ. Next thing I know, my brother and I were signed up for lessons.

My teacher was impressed. She says I pick up fast. Well she had me at “Every Good Boy Does Fine” 🙂

I was ecstatic seeing the happy faces my parents have when I play. I wanted more. I noticed my brother was playing more contemporary songs. I liked it.

Hmmm.. why not me too?

But then both my brother and I just stopped going.

So, I studied his piece and much more. I taught myself; I got myself more piano pieces to study. Pretty soon, my parents were singing to my playing.
I liked it! Haha!

Once in a while I’d play. One time, a blockmate in college borrowed some of my sheets but never returned them.

I haven’t played for a long time.

Moved to the States. Busied myself with other things. Had a family. About five years ago, we got a keyboard and a drum set. Then they got relocated to the garage.

My keyboard saw daylight again just last week.

.. Maybe the old songs will bring back the old times… maybe the old lines will sound new…

Photo credit: Tim Seifert’s website at http://cameratim.com

