Tags

,

When September rolls along in Manila, it’s the start of the Christmas season. Road are brightly lit and Christmas lanterns decorate the streets.

I was lucky this Friday night, Sept. 12, after I went to see my high school friend, Lorna, who is here on a business/leisure trip from the Philippines.

Coming from the Rosena Ranch, the newly-built community on Glen Helen Parkway, going to the I-15North freeway entrance. But when I got there it was closed. Even the exit ramp was closed. This was at approximately 10:45pm.

I drove back and continued on to Fontana to get onto the Sierra Ave. freeway entrance. Whew! Yes, this was open!

Driving towards home, passed the Cleghorn sign – 1mile.  Looked to the other side of the freeway, I-15 South. Yipes! What happened??? Traffic didn’t seem to be moving!!!

This was at 11:12pm.

Going up the Cajon Pass, a string of lights awaits.

cajoncrawl5

cajoncrawl1

cajoncrawl8

cajoncrawl3

Going further up along until after the Summit… yup, traffic seem to be at a standstill. Tsk tsk tsk!

My apologies to those who were stuck in traffic. Don’t know what happened, but they were fun to watch.

Against the dark, lights on the cars and trucks look like lights from a Christmas tree.

I get very distracted and won’t be able to tell a Christmas lantern from an actual traffic stop.

That is what happened to me while I was driving in Manila one time I was on a holiday.

Traffic light was green. Or so I thought. It was actually a GREEN Christmas lantern. Police motioned me to stop but it was too late. I was on my way. Thankfully, I didn’t get a ticket nor had an accident. Roads were empty. But it was all brightly lit – just like the Cajon Pass last Friday.

Just like as I was back home.

