Tags

, ,

It was my first time ALONE – when my car broke down.

We all panic to some extent. It could be the feeling you get in your tummy when something goes wrong or the gulp you do when you’ve realised something’s gone amiss.

I had a post previously on car care guidelines and while you may check your car’s condition often and make sure it’s on tip-top shape, it is inevitable that a problem may still occur, mechanical or electrical.

So, allow me tell you a story that happened around two years ago when I was still parking at the Metrolink Fontana station.

I had a brain fog one night when my car got awkwardly stuck in the entrance to the I-210 freeway while driving along Sierra Ave.

My car was hesitating and slowing down. Stopped and started it again. But eventually, it just stopped.

I didn’t know what to do.

Here are some scenarios when the fog clouds you:

1. Your car stops. You get out and try to push your car out of the way (especially if you’re going uphill). 

It was around 8PM on a dark night, stuck near the entrance to the I-210 freeway. Smartest thing to do is look in your rearview mirror to check for oncoming cars, get out of the car and start pushing. It’s not too heavy, is it?

2. Call all the people you know, they’ll know what to do.

I couldn’t move the car. So I went back in. Called my butler. He’s the only one who can tell me what’s wrong with the car. But of course, without seeing the car, he couldn’t. He told me to call the tow company. We have Triple A.

3. Don’t know your car’s color? Tell the tow company any color you like.

I called Triple A. I was asked for the car’s color and make and model and my approximate address, if known. All along I thought my car’s color was beige. Next day in daylight, I surveyed it – it is silver.

4. Don’t tell the agent you’re in a bad spot.

Just tell them your car’s plate number and Triple A knows exactly where you are. They will come.

5. Don’t provide landmarks on where you are.

They have locked on to your coordinates. They have satellite cameras. No worries.

6. While waiting, don’t put your seatbelt on.

Don’t worry about cars coming and hitting you, especially you’re in a bad spot.  They will see you stalled – and avoid you – just in time.

7. Don’t mention to dispatcher how many passengers are with you.

Let’s say you are with your kids or there are passengers with you when the car breaks down, don’t you worry, dispatcher will know exactly how many are with you. They have heat sensors, didn’t you know?

8. Hop in and hope for the best.

A tow truck comes. You’re too embarrassed to ask for identification. Don’t check tow truck’s name and logo. Don’t ask for names either. Just act cool. They come in peace.

9. Have a fight with the tow truck driver.

Ask why it took him long to come and rescue you.

10. Finally, don’t check your fuel level.**

You’re a girl. It’s a stereotype. The dispatcher and the driver and your hubby KNOWS you have no idea where the fuel gauge is and how to read it, anyways.

 

***These were scenarios that could happen when you have car trouble (and brain fog). Some of them, I have done (#s 1-4), the rest I learned from chatting with the tow truck driver. You know I had a looong way home. It’s one good way to pass the time (and keep him awake!).

**I nearly did have a fight with him when he asked me if I checked the petrol gauge! Most common scenario among lady drivers, so I’m told.

 

AAA have dealt with numerous scenarios, and they should have standard operating procedure questions when dealing with customers. How else could I have known those things had not the driver told me those were the things to look out for?

Hope this help clear out the fog that seem to appear when you panic.

