Tags

It could be your boss.

Orrrrr!

It could be that neighbor who’s moving out. Waiting for you to leave so she could sneak her trash into your bin. Yeah, she totally is a pain.

Or that lady or man in the train who won’t stop yapping – out loud. To themselves.

Wow, I never thought I’ve got candidates.


I’m sure we all are familiar with this scenario.

 

 

Have you ever thought that it could be your phone or tablet that’s causing you pain? (No, I’m sure it’s my boss)

With ‘smart’ devices and apps abound, who would ever thought that it could lead to this?

 

 
A condition called TEXT NECK. (Scientific name: Vertebrae slumpa hurtilitus)

“Text neck,” the posture formed by leaning over a cellphone while reading and texting, is a big problem, according to the author of a newly published study in the National Library of Medicine.

A tech-induced ailment.

Notice your posture while texting, playing on your tablets, heck, even while blogging. Hunched over the device. Head down.

Yeah, that’s typical me.

I admit my cellphone usage has increased since converting to a smartphone device. (Maybe not such a smart move, after all.)

Before, I just use my cellphone to call and text. Listen to the radio. Take pictures. I couldn’t let go of my Sony Ericsson.

Now (switched to iPhone), I use it for almost everything. I not only use it to call and text and take pictures, I also use it to read, blog, watch Netflix, surf the internet, listen to music and the radio… endless!

It’s becoming very common.

According to WebMD, “When your spine is in neutral position, the head weighs about 10-12 pounds, At 15 degrees [forward], the neck sees 27 pounds. At 45 degrees, it sees 49 pounds, and at 60 degrees, it’s 60 pounds.”

Slumped for a long time limiting oxygen flow. 

Hmmm… Maybe this is where I get my headaches from.

Then there’s the staring contest at the phone. Ayayay!

So, what can I do?

I guess, look up.

Look around.

Straighten my body.

Stretch. Deep breathing.

Relax. 

Do this every twenty minutes or so. (If I can tear myself away from the screen)

What about my fingers? 

They’re kinda sore from holding this iPhone for a while…..

Let’s have ice cream! It’s too hot! Maybe it’ll cure my headaches 😉

