Tags

, , ,

This poster in the subway caught my eye on my way to Los Angeles Union Station.

1.5 Billion rides in 25 years!

Wow!

So of course my head starts to calculate how many rides in a year.

Uh, how do I even write one point five billion?

My iPhone 5s calculator don’t even reach a billion.

BUT did you know that tilting it sideways while on calculator mode, screen will change into this trigonometric function?

 

Yes, this is what one billion looks like

In America, it’s called a thousand million.

Did you know that in England, it’s written and called differently?
A million million — which looks like this:

 

No wonder my husband thinks we always have more money!

For keeping our sanity purposes, let’s assume the American numbering system.

Say I take two trips a day. One going and one coming back.

Assuming, there are fifty-two work weeks in a year.

So, 2 x 5 = 10 rides a week

10 x 52 = 520 rides a year

Going back to that original number, 1.5 billion, I don’t get the answers nor get it done in a snap of a finger. (Though my boss seem to think so).

Assuming every person who rides the Metro is like me,

1,500,000,000 – no. of rides
/
25 – no. of years since Metro started
______
60,000,000 – no.of rides per year
/ 520 – no.of rides I take a year
___________
115,384.+ – no.of people like me

(God help us if there are that many people like me!)

However, that is counting only one line. Per Metro’s website, these are their numbers:

These numbers are not much.

According to this data (as of 2014), let’s look at the New York subway ridership numbers:

We’ve still got a loooong way to go.

In the meantime,

Keep on ridin’!

 

***Oh, and the title refers to how long it’d take to count to one billion – one number per second***

 

