Tags

, , , ,

Hello Molly,

We meet once a year on this day
Where we drink in this pub and be merry all the way.
We both wear green
And this year, we’re happy being only sixteen. 

I always ask, “How are you?”
You always answer, “Divil a bit.”
We just always raise our glass to “Slรกinte” (slancha)
Thinking it might be our last hurrah.

It seems like it’s been donkey’s years since we met,
And how much I fondly think of our day along the Boulevard Sunset.
All evening we’re having a whale of a time
And now we observe Daylight Savings Time, it seemed we’ve been robbed of a lifetime.

You’ve given me hints of interest and I love it when you say…

May the road rise up to meet you
May the wind be always at your back
May the sun shine warm upon your face

As well as..

May neighbours respect you, trouble neglect you, the angels protect you, and Heaven accept you

I try to impress you with some wisdom words but they always seem to juuust get in the way.

May your thoughts be as glad as the shamrocks. May your heart be as light as a song. May each day bring you bright, happy hours that stay with you all the year long.

I really feel it’s about time I take you to meet my parents no matter how scared I am of them, being my father a very important man, to which you’d reply,

You’ve got to do your own growing, no matter how tall your father was.

By what now seemed like a thousand hundredth swig, you were starting to talk gibberish.

I tried to kiss you and you say,

May you be afflicted with itching without the benefit of scratching.

I just thought you might like a kiss especially your shirt says you’re Irish.

I asked for your number and you kept repeating,
Eighty Four Three Hundred Big-Face

I didn’t get it.

I swear I tried to get your number.

By now you were shouting your number for everyone to hear,

Whilst singing songs and giggling and swaggering your beer

I couldn’t get along with this much merriment and think we had a bit too much of a pint of gat.

It’s all too much now especially when you’ve given me that very much decorated and very much — GREEN HAT.

Much love,
Bruce Lee

—-
*Just learned the other day that in China, it is taboo to wear green hat. It means to cheat on your husband.
So, I thought of the mixing the two up*

As they say in Ireland,
A good laugh and a long sleep are the two best cures.

